Day 6

Hello to all.

Today is day 6 of my cycle and it has been confusing and hard work.

Despite my research I have sought advice from forums as my liquid test kit are showing rather odd readings.

On day 4 I sadly lost a fish. I believe that this had nothing to do with the levels in the tank. After getting the fish home I noticed that said fish had a damaged tail and had likely been nipped while at the shop as they had angelfish with the danios. His swimming was poorer than the others and expected to lose him.
When I woke up I could only see the two fish and searched high and low but after a cup of coffee I located him stuck in the filter switch.
It has been suggested that this death could still of been due to the levels in the water and he had been stuck after his death. But I have checked the switch and it has no suction so I believe the little fella had been exploring and become trapped.

Anyway, on to my levels. After 6 days of fish in my tank I have had zero ammonia according to my test kit. Yet have shown reasonable levels of nitrates and a few nitrites.
This to me could only mean two things either my test kit is faulty or my tank is processing the level of ammonia being produced.

I have sought advice and more experienced people seemed to suspect that in fact my tank is past the first stage of cycling and is indeed processing the ammonia in the tank.
I have been using a filter boost by Love Fish daily and can only imagine that this is actually working and bacteria have grown in the tank.

On day 3 I had a very cloudy tank and this appears to have been a bacterial bloom which supports the idea that the cycle is going well.

I have completed 4 partial water changes of about 20%. Which is slightly more than I expected but I did one following the death of the fish to prevent any possible spikes in the levels from the death.

The mrs is still keen to get more fish but I have been able to resist. I am however considering real plants. Two reasons, firstly the obvious benefits to the fish and water and secondly as I think they would look nicer than all plastic.
However, I’m reluctant due to the possibility of having snails as a result of the plants. I have read that often plants have snail eggs attached and despite the best searching they usually appear.
I have not yet found any I thought looked particularly nice so have not taken the plunge.

Would love to hear from anyone and welcome to fishtanx2011!!

3 thoughts on “Day 6

  1. Aahh, okay so much information – I only kind of skim read so sorry if I’ve picked up something wrong.

    I would never recommend a fish-in cycle, just because you do end up with loses. I recommend adding your liquid bacteria, cycling it for 5-7 days and then adding just a few fish – remembering to acclimatise them over about a half hour-an hour period. With such a small tank, you will only be able to keep a little more than half a dozen or so fish, depending on what they are. (Larger fish – less fish, smaller fish – larger shoals). But because you already have fish in there, I would recommend maybe adding more filter bacteria liquid, which was maybe the Love Fish ‘filter boost’ you mentioned?…

    Also, you’re water changing way too much and way too often at this moment. You shouldn’t need to water change until after your tank has cycled and after having your fish in for at least a few days. After that only 20% water changes using a gravel siphon/gravel hoover every week.

    If you’re concerned about ‘bad’ snails, rinse your plants in slightly salty water, making sure to rinse it with clean water afterwards. But snails such as yellow rabbits help turn over your gravel, nerite snails are quite pretty and clean algae. Assassin snails will, no surprises, eat other snails if you have a bad pond snail outbreak. And apple snails are actually banned from being imported into Britain now (but are still in some stores), and they will eat your plants.

    I realise how over-whelming starting up an aquarium is, information being shouted from everywhere, etc. but I hope I’ve maybe been helpful. I’m so passionate about fish-keeping that I can sometimes go overboard.

    • Thanks for your comments.
      I’m doing the water changes in order to dilute the nitrates to liveable levels for the fish. It appears from what I have been told and read that these are just as harmful to the fish and I should be doing the regular changes.

      There is loads out there and so many opinions which conflict at times. Hence why I decided to write this, for my own reference as well as hopefully stopping people making the mistakes I have.

Leave a comment